The 2020 season of Lexington County Blowfish baseball is one that will be remembered for years to come. The COVID-19 pandemic led to many safety precautions throughout the summer including temperature checks, amending capacity at Lexington County Baseball Stadium to 1/3 (800 spectators), and social distancing throughout the ballpark.

However, 2020 also produced arguably the most talented Blowfish team of all time. In head coach Matt Padgett’s debut season, Lexington County finished just two wins shy of playing for the Southern Summerball Series Championship with a record of 23-13.

The Blowfish did set a new team record, finishing the 2020 campaign with 36 home runs. Eight Blowfish finished the season as members of the All-CPL First and Second Teams at the conclusion of the season. The team finished with a 19-6 record at home. 75 stolen bases as a team, along with the fewest team errors in the past several years (26).

The season included its share of memorable moments from Nicky Winterstein’s walk off home run over the Bomb Island Bombers, to masterful doubleheader pitching performances by Brett Kerry and Will Sanders against the Savannah Bananas, to Brady Allen’s walk-off winner against the Bananas on July 4th.

After the season ending 6-3 win over the Bananas on August 15th, the Blowfish announced their 2020 award winners which can be seen below.

Co-MVPs: Brennan Milone (USC) and Brady Allen (USC)

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Wes Clarke (USC) and Jared Kirven (College of Charleston)

Co-Pitchers of the Year: Brett Kerry (USC) and RJ Petit (Charleston Southern)

Relief Pitcher of the Year: Will Abbott (Mt. Olive)

Mr. Blowfish: Matt McDermott (William & Mary)

All-CPL First Team:

1B- Wes Clarke (USC)

3B- Brennan Milone (USC)

DH/UTL- Jared Kirven (College of Charleston)

RP-Will Abbott (Mt. Olive)

All-CPL Second Team:

SS- Matt McDermott (William & Mary)

OF- Brady Allen (USC)

SP- Brett Kerry (USC)

RP- RJ Petit (Charleston Southern)